Problems with compiling drivers for Linux Automation

I’ve been dealing with the joy of Broadcom drivers all week at work and problems with using Linux as the automation partition.  This blog entry is mostly for my own reference, but I hope that someone might find this useful.

There is a great article on the Altiris Knowledge Base, #28260, that is very useful in compiling drivers to get them to work correctly.

The first step is obviously to have a Linux system up and running.  I used Ubuntu Server, just because its stripped down and lightweight, and installed the build-essential package which includes the compilers.  Also I needed to have gcc 3.4 installed which is a simple sudo apt-get install gcc3-4.  I’m pretty sure I didn’t need to install build-essentials, but haven’t tried it yet.

Secondly go to kernel.org and download the correct kernel for the version of Deployment server you are wroking on.  DS 6.8 uses 2.16.20 and DS 6.5 uses 2.6.15.

Once you have downloaded and extracted the kernel run a simple job on your DS to copy the config.gz to your /mnt/ds, extract the config.gz and then build the kernel.  (note building your kernel might take a long time depedning on the speed of your computer.

Then just build the driver, upload it into DS and it should work.  Now I’m still building/trying this out as I type this entry, so I’ll update if there are any problems🙂

2 thoughts on “Problems with compiling drivers for Linux Automation

  1. Great summary. I am working this now and stumbled on this step:

    “Once you have downloaded and extracted the kernel run a simple job on your DS to copy the config.gz to your /mnt/ds, extract the config.gz and then build the kernel. ”

    Is the config.gz file part of the Altiris Linux pre-boot OS? If so, couldn’t they just provide the file? I don’t have a Linux host with network drivers that will work with Altiris…hence the reason I need to go through this process in the first place.:-/

  2. Jeff,

    I’m trying to remember as it has been awhile since I’ve compiled a driver for Altiris. I don’t have a DS in front of me right now, but I’m teaching a DS course this week so let me work on it in the lab.

Leave a Reply

