Don’t unify the Ubuntu Name

In a post that I read through the Ubuntu Planet, Tristan Rhodes argues for unifying the different types of (X)(K)Ubuntu in to different names such as Ubuntu School Edition to replace Edubuntu, Ubuntu Lightweight Desktop Edition would replace Xubuntu, and finally Ubuntu Desktop Edition with KDE would replace Kubuntu.

I disagree, I think these names and brands are currently too well established to change.  Maybe if Ubuntu was still known as No-Name, thne we would be able to create these types of names.  Kubuntu, Xubuntu, and Edubuntu are all too established players to change the name.  It is too late in the game. 

Besides I think these names place them in a “lower” position then they really are.  By changing the name it seems you you are a creating a second tier of citzens in the distribution world which Edubuntu, Xubuntu, and Kubuntu are certainly not.  I thinkyou are doing a great disservice to the community that is built around the different version.

I also agree with what Freddy says in his blog post as well

3 thoughts on “Don’t unify the Ubuntu Name

  1. Whoa! I didn’t know you had a blog. How come this puppy isn’t on the planet?

    Well, you all know how I feel on this, and I am sure Jonathan really does, as it isn’t he first, second, nor probably third time for the both of us hearing this. If it was going to happen, it should have happened 2+ years ago. It is to late now, especially when Kubuntu is a large contributor and pusher of KDE.

    /me adds Jonathan to his blog roll

Leave a Reply

