Frustrations w/ OpenSuSE and enabling SSH access

Altiris runs the agent and works w/ SuSE so I downloaded OpenSuSE 10.3 and installed SSH.  Altiris conects via ssh to install the application in a push install.  However you need to have ssh installed and running correctly.

SO I installed ssh, both the client and the server through Yast and figured that was it.  I can ssh locally to the box, however from either any of my VMs or my host I cannot ssh to it.  I can ping to the box, just can’t ssh to the box.  And nothing on #suse or googling can help me out.  i have disabled the firewall  as well and still can’t access it.

Please help

3 thoughts on “Frustrations w/ OpenSuSE and enabling SSH access

  1. Well, since you asked nicely, I’ll try to help out despite the fact that you’re doing something I abhor: combining technology and political leanings. Moving on — you, grasshoppa, must learn a few things about Linux.
    – The easy bit is to check (I’m going from Ubuntu, but I see no reason locations would change in S.u.S.E.): /etc/ssh/sshd_config, and look for ListenAddress. If it’s there, comment it out; then (after you’ve restarted the daemon) it’ll bind to all addresses.
    – Next, and far more generically, is the “lsof” command. lsof stands for “LiSt Open Files”. Somewhat counterintutively, however, it will also list what ports, on what interfaces, programs have open. Do an “lsof -i | less” and watch the output. Sample output for sshd on my machine is can be found by:
    lsof -i:ssh [Search for open ports, looking for port “ssh” as per /etc/services]
    or
    lsof -i:22 [Same thing, but, ’cause you’re cool (or looking for an esoteric port not in /etc/services), you specify the port number]
    or
    lsof -i | grep ssh [show all open ports, and let me filter them for my target]
    or (for the Hell of it)
    lsof -i | egrep -i “ssh|smtp|http” [show all open ports, and let me filter for multiple targets]

    Anyway, using option number 1, you get:
    root@beorn:/etc/ssh# lsof -i:ssh
    COMMAND PID USER FD TYPE DEVICE SIZE NODE NAME
    sshd 5623 root 3u IPv6 18060 TCP *:ssh (LISTEN)

    The asterisk says “open on all interfaces”. If, instead, it showed (say) “localhost”, then you’d have no external exposure.

    In summary, lsof is a tremendously helpful tool, especially for troubleshooting.

  2. First of all everyone combines technology and politics, just read any planet such as planet.debian.net or planet.kde.org. People there post both political leanings and their thoughts on technology.
    Secondly thank for your help… I was just trying to deal w/ the fact that if I install ssh on my Ubuntu workstation I can access the box… just a comment on the differences

    Jonathan

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review « A Conservative Techie

Leave a Reply

