Frustrations with Hotel Internet

I dual boot my laptop with Vista and Kubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy). Anyways I can connect without a problem to the wireless network. However when I boot into LInux I have time-out problems and other connection issues. So I called the “Helpdesk” number to troubleshoot. The last hotel I had problems with dealt with a tcp windowing issue which I have since resolved.
Anyways, as soon as I mentioned Linux they couldn’t do anything for me really. Except they asked for my MAC address. I wonder if that is loaded into the router somehow in Windows that the router is sending MAC information to the system?
So I gave them the MAC address and it is loaded into there system for the week, which is the rest of my stay here. Anyone else deal with problems like this before?

3 thoughts on “Frustrations with Hotel Internet

  1. Pingback: Sharing folder between Kubuntu and Windows « A Conservative Techie

  2. Pingback: The Linux Index » Jonathan Jesse: Sharing folder between Kubuntu and Windows

  3. The one time I had issues in a hotel, it was due to ipv6.

    Upon check-in, I noticed the wireless connection seemed bogged down. Just normal web traffic suffered long delays and timeouts. I ruled out DNS pretty quickly and eventually decided their wireless network was to blame.

    After a couple days, I began to suspect something more was at play. In the end, I believe I commented out the line pertaining to ipv6 in /etc/modprobe.d/aliases. As soon as I did so, my internet connection roared to life.

Leave a Reply

