Sharing folder between Kubuntu and Windows

So here’s another problem I’m wrestling with. As mentioned before, I dual boot both Windows and Kubuntu, also mentioned before one of the programs I can’t live without in Windows is OneNote. Because of the dual boot I have a separte partition formated in FAT32 that I save all my docs on, including my OneNote notebooks.
So what I would like to do is share my /media/sda4/onenote folder and access it through a Windows XP VM that I run to access Exchange, Office, etc…So I have enabled the folder shared through Samba via Dolphin and the sharing wizard. However I am prompted for a Username and Password. I would have thought I could use the uesrname and password I sign in as? However I am still prompted for the username and password.

Any help would be greatly appreciated… Thanks🙂

5 thoughts on “Sharing folder between Kubuntu and Windows

  1. sudo smbpasswd -a yourusername

    Then enter your password. This gives your username samba access. You might have to restart samba after doing this.

    sudo /etc/init.d/samba restart

    brought to you by a progressive techie.🙂

  2. But there is a GUI. At least I have in my KDE install, albeit not Kubuntu. There is a samba entry in Kcontrol, under network.

    If it’s not there, try installing the kdenetwork-filesharing package. Should be available in the Kubuntu distro (maybe a different name, but that’s what it is called in the Debian Etch package pool).

  3. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

