Trying to configure PPTP VPN Access in Kubuntu 8.10

Ever since I received my Dell Mini I wanted to configure the VPN connection to my work and sign in.

So last night I spent a better part of an hour trying to figure out how to do this.  However it is impossible to do this in knetworkmanager which is a shame.  The proposed solution in the forums is to install netowk-manager-gnome and configure it there, and use it instead of knetworkmanager.  Seems to be a poor workaround.

I have found a bug that is triaged in Launchpad (https://bugs.edge.launchpad.net/knetworkmanager/+bug/151867) and also the corresponding bug on bugs.kde.org (https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=174439).  This bug esists in the latest packages available for Kubuntu Intrepid.  I would be eternally grateful if someone saw this post and fixed the bug.  I would owe them several beers (or whatever adult beverage they prefer).

Very frustrating to get working and one thing that is limiting me from using Kubuntu full time as my work system.

 

Jonathan

2 thoughts on “Trying to configure PPTP VPN Access in Kubuntu 8.10

Leave a Reply

