Rush Limbaugh challenges the President to a debate

While I don’t agree with the entertainer Rush on everything he says and believes, there are a lot of things that I agree with him on.  One of these is that our economy is in trouble and nothing the President is doing is helping the out with things.  In fact, Wall Street is reacting to the President’s plans by selling stock and loosing ground.

There is currently a directed effort to make Mr. Limbaugh the leader of the Republican party in a move to put the focus off of the administrations failure to turn around the economy.

Today on Rush’s program, he has challenged the President to come onto his show and debate what the President believes versus what Mr Limbaugh believes.  Rush has even offered to pay for the entire event

In fact, Mr. President, you know what, I know these are tough economic times, and you’re trying to convince people that you’re "saving" the taxpayers money, that you’re cutting spending, that you’re cutting the deficit.  In that vein, I, Mr. President, will send my jet, EIB One, to pick you up and bring you here and take you back to wherever you want to go.  You’d love it.  It’s not as big and luxurious as your jet, but it’s got enough seats for your Secret Service detail.  But it is something to behold.  I’m very proud of it, Mr. President.  I worked for it.  I paid for it.  Taxpayers pay you for your travel.  Nobody pays me for mine.  I pay for it.  I pay for the airplane.  I pay for the travel.  I pay for practically everything I do.  We can talk about that, too.  I could tell you what that’s like.
And once you land, by the way, I have a fleet of SUVs because I have guests here all the time.  I have four or five SUVs.  I can send a caravan to pick you up.  I’ll even put you up at The Breakers.  It’s a five-star resort.  I’ll do it all on my dime.  We don’t want the taxpayers footing any of the bill for this — and my jet burns a lot less fuel than your two and your C-130 to bring your limousine and SUV caravan here.  In fact, you know what, Mr. President? I’ll tell you what I will do, if you will do this. I will promise to order some Wagyu Kobe beef at $100 a pound, just like you serve at your cocktail parties and your Super Bowl parties. I’ll get it from Allen Brothers in Chicago, since you like that. I know you like $100-per-pound beef. You serve it at the White House.
But I’ll cover the cost.  I will cover the cost, Mr. President, so that the taxpayers do not have to pay for it, as they did your Super Bowl party, and as they do your Wednesday afternoon cocktail party.  So you have no excuses.

Some things that Rush would love to talk to the President about: New Deal versus Reagonomics, Guantanamo Bay, sending $900 million to Hamas, illegal immigration and ACORN.  All things they disagree with and Rush is being targeted for.

So if a private citizen challenges the President to a debate and the President doesn’t accept does this make him appear weak?

I wish the President would at least send some people to debate Rush instead of attacking him.

Some other information for more background:

The Politico: Rush Job: Inside Dems’ Limbaugh plan
DCC.org: Democrat Party Launches Yet Another Anti-Rush Website

Leave a Reply

