Your blog is not your resume, your resume is your resume

My friend Robert Scoble recently posted a blog article on how to socially network once you are fired, or if you looking for a new job.  And I disagree with him…..

Robert’s first point is “Your blog is your resume” and I would disagree with him.  Your resume is your resume….  Let me give you an example…. If I’m looking for another instructor to join my company I will not go searching different blog sites to find who can write the best how-to articles, or who can write the best article.  I would be looking for an actual trainer, someone with experience training, not writing how-to manuals.  Also I would hope that person would send me a resume complete with references and other ways of verifying the individual was actually a good trainer.

Secondly, Robert argues one should remove all LOLCats from our blog…  Sorry Robert, your blog should be able to personal and fun but it shouldn’t be all LOLCats and stupid drinking photos.  I will search for you on Google/Facebook but you should be allowed to be personal on your blog.

If your blog is nothing more then getting yourself a new job, consider other steps to get that name recognition on whatever you are doing.  Submit an article to a magazine, post some blog posts, hang out in forums, call companies, do a job search.  I will not find you and hire you based only on your blog.  An example:  I am a Symantec Consultant/Trainer and if you are looking to be a successful consultant spend time on the forums, either forums.altiris.com or juice.altiris.com or other Symantec related forums helping people out.  That’s how I will find you, not a blog post…..

Again the statement that kids/hobbies shouldn’t be more then 1% of your public persona is something I disagree with.  I have this blog and also a family blog, my flickr stream is full of family pictures…. Facebook is full of personal information.  Does that change who I am?  Does that affect my job?  I doubt that… Does it mean I’m stupid as to what I post on those services?  No, I have a real life and demonstrating that I am a real person with a real life makes me a better worker and a better person.

I think this advice is geared more towards those that exist within the same bubble that Robert does and want to continue to exist in that same bubble.

And Robert, a search for Robert Scoble blog on google and live search both turned up your old worpdress blog as the first two links, so you might want to take a look at your own SEO.

 

Jonathan

One thought on “Your blog is not your resume, your resume is your resume

  1. I agree with your assessment of why both a blog and a resume should serve their initial purposes. I for one may not want my employer or coworkers to know about my blog. If they Google me; then they’ll see it, but I’m not going to publicize my blog at work! I’m also not stupid enough to post something to a public blog that can potentially get me fired! I’m not working for fun!

    Besides not using your blog to share your resume/work experiences; you may share a part of yourself (that isn’t so bad), but can be a complete turn off to the person responsible for the hiring. Your views are not always the same as those you work with; so it’s best to keep some things to yourself. That and the fact that that’s what LinkedIn is for. It’s a professional social networking site where your resume is your profile. Tell your friend to try networking professionally using that forum versus a blog.

Leave a comment